Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Dr Jane Walker is the first person from outside the US to win the Academy of Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry Research Professor Award.

Dr Jane Walker

The Academy of Consultation Liaison Psychiatry is a major American-based international professional organisation.  It aims to promote education and research into the role of psychiatry in general medical care.

The ACLP Foundation Research Professor Award is an annual award given to an internationally leading researcher in the field.  

The awardee receives a prize of $10,000, delivers a lecture on their research to the Academy and provides research mentorship to three competitively selected early career researchers.

Dr Walker said: “I am truly honoured to receive this award and delighted to have the opportunity to work with three fantastic early career researchers. I look forward to mentoring them as they carry out research that will improve the psychiatric care of patients with medical illnesses.”

Dr Walker’s work is dedicated to improving the lives of people with severe medical illnesses by integrating psychiatry into medical care. Her research includes epidemiological studies, intervention development and clinical trials.


Please follow the link below to read the news on the NIHR BRC website.

Similar stories

Dr Maxime Taquet gets third Royal College of Psychiatrists award

Dr Maxime Taquet has been named the Core Psychiatric Trainee of the Year in the Royal College of Psychiatrists RCPsych Awards 2022.

MSc Clinical and Therapeutic Neuroscience: Class 2021/22 Prizes

Congratulations to our MSc in Clinical and Therapeutic Neuroscience, Class of 2021/22 for successfully completing the course.

Professor Daniel Freeman Elected British Academy Fellow

Professor Freeman is one of seven academics from the University of Oxford who have been elected as 2022 Fellows of the British Academy in recognition of their distinguished contribution to research.

Career Recognition

Dr Miriam Klein-Flugge has been conferred the title of Associate Professor, in recognition of her exceptional contribution to research.

Career Recognition

Dr Sana Suri has been conferred the title of Associate Professor, in recognition of her exceptional contribution to research.

Kia Nobre Awarded Prestigious C.L. de Carvalho- Heineken Prize for Cognitive Science 2022

The award honours Professor Nobre's innovative approach to imaging and understanding the human brain as well as the impact of this work on numerous subfields of cognitive neuroscience, including attention, working memory, long-term memory, and language.