Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The annual Royal College of Psychiatrists (RCPsych) Awards mark the highest level of achievement within the field of psychiatry.

None © Photo Dominic Turner
Professor Michael Sharpe holding the Psychological Medicine team award with team members and Dame Fiona Caldicott

Psychological Medicine Research team (left to right): Dr. David Okai, Dr. Ian Baker, Dr. Helen Griffiths, Dr. Isabel Paz, Dr. Jane Walker, Dr. Karen Steinhardt, Dr. Mark Toynbee.


Professor John Geddes, Head of Department, says, "I'm delighted that our esteemed colleagues have been recognised for their unyielding work and contributions to the research, development and progress of mental health. At the Department of Psychiatry we strive to promote excellence in clinical practice, to develop and provide innovative clinical services. Our world class research could not be achieved without the true collaboration of our colleagues and partner organisations focussed on equality and quality for mental health services."

The annual Royal College of Psychiatrists (RCPsych) Awards mark the highest level of achievement within the field of psychiatry. This year, the awards were presented by Victoria Derbyshire at an event in London on 7 November.

• Professor Andrea Cipriani, Department of Psychiatry, won the award for SN Jajoo Memorial Academic Researcher of the Year

• The Psychological Medicine Research team, led by Professor Michael Sharpe of the Department of Psychiatry, won the award for Psychiatric Team of the Year: non age specific

Professor Andrea Cipriani
, said, "I am honoured to have won this award and I feel privileged that I'm working in Oxford, a vibrant environment with fantastic colleagues in the University Department and in the Trust. I'm very pleased to have my work recognised. In collaboration with international experts, we are using high-quality data to develop a web-based algorithm to personalise treatment in mental health. This is the way to go to better inform the real world decision-making process between clinicians, patients and carers."

None© Photo Dominic Turner

Professor Andrea Cipriani and Dr J Jajoo.

Professor Michael Sharpe
, of the Department of Psychiatry and Trust Lead for Psychological Medicine in Oxford University Hospitals Trust, said, "The team is a great example of what can be achieved by good University and NHS collaboration. The team deliver innovative clinical services, cutting-edge research and high quality teaching. I am proud of all my NHS and University colleagues who work together to make patient care as good as they possibly can."

Dame Fiona Caldicott, Chairman of Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust won the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Dame Fiona Caldicott was Principal of Somerville College in the University of Oxford from 1996-2010, and a Pro-Vice-Chancellor from 2002-10.


Please follow the link below to read the news on the NIHR BRC website.

Similar stories

2020 Most Highly Cited Researchers

Awards Mental Health

6 researchers in the Department of Psychiatry are in the Highly Cited Researchers 2020 list.

Multi-million-pound Renewal of Funding for DPUK's Dementia Research

Awards Dementia Mental Health Old-age psychiatry

The UK's Medical Research Council (MRC) has confirmed renewal of funding for Dementias Platform UK (DPUK), in partnership with industry and the third sector.

Professor Keith Hawton Awarded CBE for Services to Suicide Prevention


Professor Hawton joined the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Oxford many years ago and became Professor of Psychiatry in 1996. His work on suicide and self-harm continues to lead the field with new guidance, studies, and publications.

MSc Clinical & Therapeutic Neuroscience: Class 2019/20 Prizes


Congratulations to our MSc in Clinical and Therapeutic Neuroscience, Class of 2019/20 for successfully completing the course.

Psychological Therapy Innovator Wins BPS President's Award


Professor Daniel Freeman, an innovator in the research and treatment of psychosis, is the 2020 recipient of the British Psychological Society's President's Award.

Enriching Engagement (Round 2) awardees announced


The awardees for the second round of the University of Oxford’s Enriching Engagement funding scheme have now been announced, including six projects from across the Medical Sciences Division.